The Glorification of Germanicus (Gemma Tiberiana)

On display

Great excitement was caused among European scholars and lovers of the antique by the discovery in Paris in 1620 of a rare and exquisite work of classical sculpture. This was a large Roman cameo, identified by the French antiquary, Nicolas-Claude Fabri de Peirsec, in the Treasury of the Sainte-Chapelle. The gem seems to represent Germanicus taking leave of his parents, the Emperor Tiberius and his mother Livia, with other members of the Julio-Claudian family, past and present. In 1621 Peirsec suggested to the Flemish artist Peter Paul Rubens (1577–1640), who was admired for his knowledge of the antique, that he might publish the discovery. This led to a project to compile an illustrated Gem Book, which came to nothing, but Rubens offered to make an enlarged copy, culminating in this celebratory painting which was delivered to Peiresc in 1626.

While remaining generally true to the appearance of the cameo, Rubens added a life-like warmth to the cold stone. He did not replicate the layers of brown in the sardonyx, but focused instead on the variegated white layers, modelling the figures subtly to give a greater sense of volume. Rubens also intensified the expressions of the figures, endowing them with a kind of graceful naturalism typical of his age. His copy was not a documentary record, but a sympathetic interpretation of the stately classical beauty of the gem. Rubens tidied up its irregular shape and restored two heads in the lower area where they were missing in the original.


  • Title

    The Glorification of Germanicus (Gemma Tiberiana)

  • Artist/maker

    Peter Paul Rubens (1577 - 1640)
  • Associated place

    Europe (place of creation)
  • Date

  • Material and technique

    oil on canvas

  • Object type

  • Dimensions

    100.7 x 78 cm (height x width)
  • No. of items


  • Credit line

    Accepted by HM Government in lieu of Inheritance Tax from the estate of Christopher Norris and purchased with the assistance of the Museums & Galleries Commission/V&A Purchase Grant Fund and the Art Fund, 1989.

  • Museum location

    Second floor | Gallery 46 | Baroque Art
  • Museum department

    Western Art

  • Accession no.


  • Our online collection is being continually updated. Find out more

Further reading

White, Christopher, Catalogue of the Collection of Paintings: Dutch, Flemish, and German Paintings before 1900 (Ashmolean Museum, Oxford, 1999), illus. 117

Reference URL

q-seffron-icon q-white-icon pluse-seffron-icon pluse-white-icon minus-seffron-icon minus-white-icon close-seffron-icon close-white-icon close-black-icon prv-gry-arrow prv-arrow print-seffron-icon print-black-icon next-arrow next-gry-arrow next-white-arrow up-arrow-black up-arrow black-up-arrow black-down-arrow white-up-arrow white-down-arrow hr-list-gry-icon hr-list-white-icon vr-list-gry-icon vr-list-white-icon eye-icon zoomin-icon zoomout-icon fullview-icon contact-black-icon contact-seffron-icon basket-seffron-icon basket-black-icon share-black-icon share-seffron-icon go-arrow search-white-icon